Home > Tri Posts > A little push when I needed it

A little push when I needed it

I need to get one of these

In follow up to my last post, where I quite proudly announced that I am becoming a runner, and not missing a workout, it’s now been 4 days since my last run.  I’ve done nothing in that time.  Zip.  Zilch.  Oops.

Admittedly, I haven’t taken a rest week in a long time, so it’s not the end of the world.  But I was feeling a bit guilty to not have run in a while.

Last night I got a lovely and completely unexpected text from a cousin who reminded me that I’m making progress.  That felt incredible.

In the worlds of athletic training and weight loss, we push so hard for very minimal results.  We keep telling ourselves that each effort session is worth it, even though the gains in running time or loss in weight per session is so microscopic.  We keep pushing ourselves to run harder when it burns, to lift that weight one more time when our body wants to fall down and our heart wants to jump out of our chest.  We keep telling ourselves that it’s working, that it’s worth it, and to push on.

Possibly the best thing that could happen is unsolicited positive feedback – a reminder that all your work is paying off.

This morning I’m really tired, but really inspired.  Time to get back to the grind.  Today I’m going to fit in another run!

-DO’G

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

