Home > Tri Posts > Day Off!!!

Day Off!!!

If only I had a hammock...

Including yesterday’s run, I’ve now trained 6 times in the past 5 days.  Yessir, I’m taking today off.  Not the lazy kinda ‘I didn’t get around to it’ day off – a deliberately planned day off so the body can rest and recover.  A day off where I feel content about the work I’ve done.  A day off where I won’t feel guilty for parking my ass on my couch instead of training (or better yet, parking my ass in a chair in the back yard in this unseasonably un-March-like weather).

Tomorrow I’m back at it with a speed training run session followed by a full km endurance swim (yeah, not exactly what my online training plan says – I need to change that already).  Today, I get to relax!

With that in mind, it’s time to punch outta work!

Yabba Dabba Do!!!!

-DO’G

  1. March 20, 2012 at 9:09 am

    Out of curiosity, how long is the swim component in a triathlon?

    • March 20, 2012 at 9:15 am

      I race in “Sprint” distance triathlons currently. Approx distances:
      750m swim
      20k bike
      5k run
      These can vary a bit race to race (I’ve seen the swim for a sprint race anywhere from 500m to 1km, but 750 is pretty standard) – usually depends on the body of water they use and if there are any natural limitations.

      Olympic distance is double the Sprint distance. I’d love to try one of those in a few years, but I’m not ready yet. 1/2 Iron Man and Iron Man distances are roughly double increments again after that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

