Home > Tri Posts > Daylight sleepy time

Daylight sleepy time

That's about how waking up feels

I haven’t posted much in a few days because I don’t have much to say.  I seem to have fallen off the training wagon.  Daylight savings time is kicking my sleepy ass!

The mornings come earlier, and more abruptly.  The days are a struggle.  And the evenings I’m just a zombie.  I have the best of intentions to go out for a run or a swim, but I can barely find the energy to cook (and I can’t find the energy to clean up afterward).

I think the biggest shift though is the internal eating schedule.  We have always eaten dinner at 7:00.  Now, with the time change, the body isn’t ready for dinner until 8:00.  But the pool schedule doesn’t change – lane swim is at 8:30.  The last thing I want to do is go straight to the pool on a full stomach (previous posts have shown what a mistake it is to go even after eating an hour earlier).  Really, it becomes an excuse.  Everyone in my timezone is going through the same thing – it takes a while for the body to adjust to an hour shift like this.  But every day I don’t train because of it is a day I fall further behind (Note: behind what?  It’s not like I’m making any progress to speak of anyway).

I wish I was training.  I regret that I’m not training.  But really I just want to go back to bed…

– DO’G

Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

