Home > Tri Posts > Broken

Broken

well... crap...

Now I’ve gone and done it.  I thought I could go for a run yesterday.  It’s just a calf cramp I thought… I’ve stretched, no biggie.  Sure, the first 2km were fine, but after that things went down hill fast.  By 4km I was hobbling home, and I’ve been hobbling ever since.

Today I’m hard pressed to move at all.  Stairs are particularly tough.  The hamstring is a bit sore, I think mostly because I’m favoring the calf too much, but the calf muscle is still a rock.

So now I’m popping pills and canceling my running plans for tonight!  Not impressed.  Not even slightly.  So far this week I’ve hit every one of my goals (and they were ambitious goals) except my run total.  I’ve run 9.28kms so far with a goal of 15km by the end of this weekend.  Completely do-able, if only my calf will let me move at more than a hobble.

Calf strains shouldn’t last over 48 hours.  I’ve done something to it.  I think this constitutes my first official training injury, something I was hoping to avoid.  Fingers crossed it clears this weekend, otherwise by Monday we start looking for a plan to deal with it.

– DO’G

  1. Nita
    March 3, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    Potassium, Calcium & Magnesium babe. That plus water & stretching will help lots. I remember these cramps from walking training.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

