Home > Tri Posts > Calf cramps suck

Calf cramps suck

Yeah - 'cause that's totally me...

Getting out of the pool last night I had a massive spasm in my right calf.  It was like things went into slow motion – I could feel my leg tightening as I was climbing out, but I couldn’t relax my leg in time to prevent onset.  A calf cramp.  One of the most painful nuisance-grade injuries in the sporting world, and I know it well.

I get calf cramps several times per year.  Usually they come in the middle of the night when I haven’t been doing anything at all, and always in my right leg.  This one was particularly bad.  It was a good 5 minutes before I could get up off the pool deck and start walking it off (yet surprisingly, the lifeguards on deck didn’t come ask if I was ok at all.  There were only 2 of us in the pool, and one of them was laying on the pool deck grimacing in pain and holding their leg… were they too busy to come and check?)

It’s now about 18 hours later.  I walked home – slowly – after my swim.  I had a hot bath when I got home to relax the muscle.  I slept for almost 10 hours… well, more or less.  I even exercised and stretched today on my lunch break.  But the calf muscle is still cranky.  Usually calf cramps suck for 20 minutes, and then they pass.  This one is lasting a really long time.  Hopefully it’ll pass soon – I look pretty ridiculous limping around in the mean time.

– DO’G

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

