Home > Tri Posts > Back on the horse!

Back on the horse!

February 21, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Taking a week off last week was great.  Getting back on the horse is even better.

This afternoon’s lift was amazing – my legs haven’t wobbled and burnt so much after a lift in a long time (I dare say back to my days working with Jeremy).  Just a quick 20 minute lift on my lunch hour, but boy did it go a long way.

Tonight I swam.  It was great, and for a number of reasons:  Firstly, it felt fantastic.  I’d quite happily say it was my best swim so far this year, and I didn’t even look at the clock to see how fast I was going.  I felt fast.  I felt strong.  I felt myself pull through the water more efficiently than I have in a while.  I felt really good.  After about 200m I decided not to look up at the clock.  I pushed myself based on what my body could do instead of resting for 30 seconds between sets because I was allowed.  I swam 200m sets because my arms could take more, instead of the 100m sets I had planned to do when I walked to the pool.  In the end, I don’t know if it was faster or not, but it felt great.  Right now that positive feeling is worth it’s weight in gold!!

Secondly, the swim was great not only for feeling good, but simply the fact that I went (check that introductory sentence out!  Boo-yeah high school English class)!  We had friends of our come over for a dinner of pancakes and sausage and bacon and latkes.  I didn’t bail on my planned work out – not for friends at our house, nor for a belly full of pancakes and sausage.  I stuck to the plan.  Wicked.

I may have more thoughts on the swim tomorrow.  For tonight, I sleep.  I’m quite happy simply basking in the feeling of a a great training day!

– DO’G

ps. That is some sinfully great fudge Debbi!!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

