Home > Tri Posts > Oh, right, posting…

Oh, right, posting…

February 8, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Sorry for being MIA for the past few days – guess we’ll see what this does to my loyal readership…

I haven’t had much to post about lately.  And I don’t want to feel compelled to post for the sake of posting (even though I often do).  But it’s occurred to me today that the sum of a lot of little things really does add up to a big thing worth posting about.

What are these little things?  Little successes.  Over the past 7 days I’ve run 3 times and swam twice.  AND not only have I stuck to the schedule, but I’ve seen tiny microscopic improvements from session to session.  Huzzah!!

Today’s run was the apex of this microscopic hill that I’ve climbed (yay – I’m the king of the ant hill!).  I got my average run pace into new territory which felt really good.  Progress – what an unbelievably good feeling.  Sticking to the plan – oddly enough, contributes to progress.

I’ll pause while you all mull on that little tidbit of wisdom there.  You’re welcome.

So the moral of today’s story: even when you come home from work, and you’re tired from a 70km traffic jam commute following a long day of conference calls from your cubicle, and it’s freakin’ cold outside, and it’s still not quite light when you get home from work, haul your ass out of the house and stick to the plan.  It really does work, but only if you stick to it.

I think tonight I’m going to have a beer.  I’ve earned it!

– DO’G

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

