Home > Tri Posts > Lose It!

Lose It!

January 31, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

So, the other day while dicking around at work working really gosh-darn hard, I stumbled across Lose It!  Seems like a reasonably slick little site.  A way to track what you’re eating and how much you’re exercising, in terms of a net calories per day model, with an aim towards a weight loss goal.  Simple enough.

Reminds me of several other methods I’ve tried to do the same thing (or at least something similar enough).  I found it actually worked, so long as I stuck to it.  For me, it’s not so much about a daily calorie allowance, blah, blah, blah… it’s about accountability.  My rule to myself is: I can eat anything I want, as much as I want.  I just have to write it down.  No diet, no rules, no wagon to fall off of.  I just have to write it down.  And in writing it down, I see how many other times I’ve decided to eat crap (or extra crap) that I didn’t need, under the excuse of “I can eat anything I want”.  Even if I’m only accountable to myself, it seems to work.  Of course, it would work better if I was accountable to others as well (so to that end, if anyone else out there wants to use it or check it out – feel free to keep an eye on me 😉 )

The problem is, there is still a way to fall off of this wagon.  It’s only good if you keep it updated.  I do like that this site has a phone app for updates on the go.  Of course, it’s great to wave this flag as the difference from previous crash and burn attempts – I’ve been using this site for one day so far.  It may still pewter out like so many attempts before it, but I’m allowed to kid myself, aren’t I?

– DO’G

EDIT: Apparently the term is “Peter out”, not “Pewter out”.  Guess I’ve been saying that one wrong for years.  But really, that’s stupid: what the hell does “Peter out” mean?!? (yes, I know, I can look it up pretty easily on the internet – I’m being rhetoric)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

