Home > Tri Posts > Kinda excited

Kinda excited

January 27, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Some of you may have noticed this is a blog about me trying to train for triathlon, but always posting about running.  Isn’t there more to triathlon than running?

Why yes there is.  In fact there’s two more sports in triathlon, that are both distinctly more enjoyable than running: biking, and swimming.  But there’s two good reasons why I really only ever train at the run:

  1. I suck at running.  I really suck at it.  I run like a 300lb man who’s never gotten off the couch before in his life.  So I try to over emphasize it with blind hope that I’ll get better
  2. I’m really cheap.  And this time of year you can lace up your shoes and run in the snow.  But biking and swimming in the snow really sucks.  And I’m too cheap to pay for a gym membership so that I can do those things indoors

BUT, on my run this evening I discovered that this one old rundown looking brick walled building that I have always run past and never given a moment’s thought to is actually a rec complex… with a pool!!!  And a little interwebs searching tells me they have lane swim times.  And it’s not too expensive.  And it’s 1/2 km from my house.  Joygasm!!!

I get to add swimming into my training!  That’s so exciting!  I think my goal for next week will be to actually go inside this old brick building and check it out… maybe even with a bathing suit and a few dollars in hand!

-DO’G

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

