Home > Tri Posts > Blue Monday

Blue Monday

January 16, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today is Blue Monday – apparently, officially, the most depressing day of the year.

I don’t know if I buy into the whole “Blue Monday” thing – but I certainly do feel really tired and lethargic today.  Dragging Ass Day might be more appropriate than Blue Monday, but that’s just me.

I had an epiphany this morning when I woke up (which is amazing, considering my ability to think first thing in the morning is normally near zero): When I drive to work, I wake up at 6:00.  When I work from home, I wake up at 8:00.  Yet, regardless of my work plans the next morning, I go to bed at the same time every night.

HOLY SHIT!  I think I’m on to something!  No wonder I’m useless at work these days, and virtually incoherent in the mornings.  No wonder I don’t ever want to exercise on days that I drive to work.  I give myself 2 hours less sleep on nights preceding a 1 hour + commute to work.

And if I could be more rested through the day, just think what that might do for my ability to stick to my run schedule at night when I get home (’cause hells-no I’m not running in the morning!)

Suddenly I’m feeling very optimistic, especially for a Blue Monday.  Still really tired and ass-dragging, but optimistic…

-DO’G

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

