Home > Tri Posts > Hello world!

Hello world!

January 10, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

So… why am I here?

This past year I turned 30.  I’m a regular Canadian guy, a project manager (read: project coordinator in denial), who loves his fiancee, baseball, football, and a beer with his buddies.  Unfortunately, most of these hobbies involve being parked on my couch.

Last year I stepped on a scale for the first time in a long time.  265lbs.  Yikes.  I know a lot of people don’t like to mention their weight – I actually really like it.  Because it reminds me where I’m coming from.  When I turned 30 I decided I needed to do something about it.  I decided to train for a triathlon, hoping to lose some weight.

A funny thing happened on the way to the forum.  Triathlon training was more than losing weight – I really liked it.  I raced in my first Sprint Triathlon in September 2011.  36th out of 39 in my age group, a Personal Best.  It felt amazing.  I want to race again.  I want to go faster.  It’s no longer about losing weight (although that’s nice) – it’s about finding a part of me through Tri.

Today I’m 245lbs.  I get to run with my fiancee, which is amazing.  But this isn’t easy.  I’ve never been an athlete – I don’t have an athlete’s body, or habits.  But I keep pushing.  And if I have anything to say as I go along, I’ll let you all know 😉

Today’s run isn’t about how far you can go today – but how far it helps you go tomorrow…

– DO’G

  1. January 12, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Awesome.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

